Holy Family Memorial banner

Night of Excellence

HFM Sports Medicine presents: 

Night of Excellence
Friday, June 13, 2014

Scholarships up to $500 for the winning athletes

Download NOE nomination form

Event Details:

HFM Rehab Plus Sports Medicine will be hosting their 10th Annual awards banquet for Manitowoc County high school athletes, coaches, teams, and special olympics.  It is our privilege to have this opportunity to bring our community together and celebrate the accomplishments that these unique individuals have achieved.

Nominate an Athlete Today!
Click on Download NOE nomination form in upper right to see nomination guidelines

Nominations are due: May 16, 2014
2013 Winners

Award category criteria:

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
This award is for the athlete who has shown the largest impact with their performance compared to any of the previous season’s efforts. This athlete must show a significant increase in statistics, playing time, etc.

Coach of the Year
This award will go to the coach that shows leadership, demonstrates discipline and guidance while maintaining a high level of success in their sport(s). They must have a good working relationship with their players as well as fellow coaches. 

Comeback Athlete of the Year
This award will go to the athlete who has returned from an injury or fought adversity to excel in their sport. The athlete needs to have experienced a season ending injury or illness, only to show the hard work and determination necessary to get back.

Integrity in Leadership for Coaching
This award will go to the coach that shows character, integrity, and leadership in and out of the sporting realm. They must display dedication to the community and have a good working relationship with fellow coaches. This coach must show that they have a strong commitment to athlete development.

Male & Female Athlete of the Year
This award will go to the athlete who displays desire, determination, and self-discipline required for success in the athletic arena. This individual must have shown statistical leadership and be named to an all conference honorable mention or higher. 

Male & Female Commitment to Excellence
This award will go to a senior athlete who demonstrates a commitment to the sport they participate in while excelling in the classroom. He/she must have a cumulative GPA of at least a 3.75 in the classroom, while demonstrating good sportsmanship on the field. $500 College Scholarship for each male & female winner. This individual also must show that they dedicate time to the community in which they live, and act as a role model.

Team of the Year
This award goes to the team that best exemplifies the high standards a team must embrace in order to achieve success. This award goes to the team that demonstrates success, not only on the scoreboard, but who also works together during times of adversity to achieve a common goal.

Special Olympian of the Year
This award is for the male or female athlete from Manitowoc County Special Olympics that has shown exceptional leadership, demonstrated teamwork, showed good sportsmanship, and cooperation with coaches and fellow athletes. 


2013 RESULTS: 9th Annual Night of Excellence Awards banquet


Thank you to everyone involved who made our awards a huge success!

Male Athlete of the Year

1. Brett Kasper, Two Rivers; 2. Nick Schroeder, Manitowoc Lincoln; 3. Luke Finnel, Mishicot; Finalists — Stetson McCulley, Valders; Jimmy Albright, Roncalli; Colby Kasten, Reedsville; Kyle Hoffman, Manitowoc Lincoln; Mason Cracraft, Mishicot

Female Athlete of the Year

1. Kali Hackmann, Manitowoc Lincoln; 2. Rachel Moczynski, Roncalli; 3. Danelle Buck, Valders; Finalists — Alyssa DeZeeuw, Manitowoc Lincoln; Abby Halla, Roncalli

Male Commitment to Excellence

1. Nick Schroeder, Manitowoc Lincoln; 2. Peter Menges, Manitowoc Lutheran; 3. Colby Kasten Reedsville; Finalists — Brett Kasper, Two Rivers; David Menk, Manitowoc Lutheran; Brandon Butler, Mishicot; Luke Finnel, Mishicot

Female Commitment to Excellence

1. Kelly Wilfert, Mishicot; 2. Elizabeth Kuenzi, Roncalli; 3. Taylor Albright, Manitowoc Lincoln; Finalists — Rachel Moczynski, Roncalli; Paige Neumeyer, Valders

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

1. Shelby Otto Reedsville; 2. Tallie Piaskowski, Roncalli; 3. Devon Liermann, Manitowoc Lutheran; Finalists — Brock Gilsdorf, Reedsville; Alyssa DeZeeuw, Manitowoc Lincoln

Comeback Athlete of the Year

1. Dylan Neuser, Manitowoc Lincoln; 2. Shawny Gabriel, Manitowoc Lincoln

Coach of the Year

1. Brent Luebke, Two Rivers football; 2. Mike Halla, Roncalli girls tennis

Team of the Year

1. Manitowoc Lincoln boys swimming; 2. Two Rivers football; 3. Reedsville wrestling; Finalists — Roncalli girls tennis; Manitowoc Lutheran girls track; Manitowoc Lutheran boys cross country

Integrity in Leadership for Coaching

1. Kris Hanson Reedsville; 2. Len Nikolai, Manitowoc Lincoln; 3. Brian Brandl Valders

Special Olympian of the Year

1. Ted Zeman; Finalists — David Burkard; Philip Einertson

Perseverance Award

Mishicot boys basketball team